Skip to navigation – Site map

33 | 2009
La relation ethnographique, terrains et textes

Mélanges offerts à Raymond Jamous
The Ethnographic Relationship, Fields and Texts: Miscellanea Offered to Raymond Jamous
Edited by Frédérique Fogel and Isabelle Rivoal

 This issue is a collection of speeches presented at a conference organised by the LESC (February 2007) to consider two aspects of ethnography: the ethnographic relationship as a particular component of the ethnologist’s modus operandi, and ethnographic data as a condition for the construction of ethnographic knowledge.
 Whether immediate or constructed, alterity shapes every ethnographic relationship. The ethnologist’s alterity provokes a reaction from the society. To move beyond the anecdotal and to make comparisons, researchers ask themselves: How did the initial contact go? What place(s) and what role(s) did the society assign them? At what level (family, friendship, ritual, etc.)? At which moment and in what way did they perceive it? And how did they “work on their role”, either respecting or ignoring the assignation?
 For some, this introspective reconsideration long after the event reveals the fluctuating conditions of the field experience —its successes as well as its failures. It is ultimately a matter of analysing the modalities that govern how the ethnographic relationship conditions the choice and development of analytical perspectives.

 Contributors: Michèle Baussant, Katia Boissevain, Baptiste Buob, Laurence Caillet, Dominique Casajus, Frédérique Fogel, Olivier Herrenschmidt, Michael Houseman, Nicolas Journet, Christine Jungen, Gérard Lenclud, Charles Malamoud, Antoinette Molinié, Claire Cécile Mitatre, Emmanuelle Novello, Simonne Pauwels, Anne-Marie Peatrik, Anna Poujeau, Élise Prébin, Isabelle Rivoal, Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Lizana, Lucien Scubla, Romain Simenel, Anne-Christine Taylor

  • Logo LESC - Laboratoire d’Ethnologie et de Sociologie Comparative
  • Logo Maison René Ginouvès - Archéologie & Ethnologie
  • Logo DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
  • Revues.org

Navigation – Plan du site

33 | 2009
La relation ethnographique, terrains et textes

Mélanges offerts à Raymond Jamous
The Ethnographic Relationship, Fields and Texts: Miscellanea Offered to Raymond Jamous
Sous la direction de Frédérique Fogel et Isabelle Rivoal

Mélanges offerts à Raymond Jamous, ce numéro rassemble des interventions présentées lors du colloque organisé par le LESC (février 2007) pour réfléchir à l’ethnographie dans ses deux dimensions : celle de la relation ethnographique comme temps particulier du modus operandi de l’ethnologue, et celle des données ethnographiques comme condition de la construction des savoirs ethnologiques.
Immédiate ou construite, l’altérité façonne toute relation ethnographique. Celle de l’ethnologue suscite une réaction de la société. Au-delà de l’anecdote et pour construire la comparaison, le chercheur s’interroge : Comment s’est passé le premier contact ? Quelle(s) place(s) et quel(s) rôle(s) la société lui a-t-elle assignés ? Dans quel registre (parenté, amitié, rituel, etc.) ? À quel moment et de quelle façon l’a-t-il perçu ? Et comment a-t-il « travaillé son rôle », en respectant ou en ignorant l’assignation ?
Ce retour réflexif, pour certains, longtemps après les faits, met en évidence les conditions fluctuantes de l’expérience du terrain, ses réussites, ses échecs aussi. Il s’agit enfin d’analyser les modalités selon lesquelles la relation ethnographique conditionne le choix et le développement des perspectives problématiques.

Contributeurs : Michèle Baussant, Katia Boissevain, Baptiste Buob, Laurence Caillet, Dominique Casajus, Frédérique Fogel, Olivier Herrenschmidt, Michael Houseman, Nicolas Journet, Christine Jungen, Gérard Lenclud, Charles Malamoud, Antoinette Molinié, Claire Cécile Mitatre, Emmanuelle Novello, Simonne Pauwels, Anne-Marie Peatrik, Anna Poujeau, Élise Prébin, Isabelle Rivoal, Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Lizana, Lucien Scubla, Romain Simenel, Anne-Christine Taylor

  • Logo LESC - Laboratoire d’Ethnologie et de Sociologie Comparative
  • Logo Maison René Ginouvès - Archéologie & Ethnologie
  • Logo DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
  • Revues.org